BARGAINING ALERT!!!

February 17, 2016

Previous meeting date: January 15, 2016

LACEA rejects LACOE's salary proposal, takes LACOE to impasse!

On Wednesday, February 17, 2016, the LACEA bargaining team rejected LACOE's salary proposal and contract language that will give Principals veto power over the site Shared Decision Making Councils. LACEA declared Impasse on LACOE.

LACOE presented LACEA with their last, best and final offer:

"Effective July 1, 2015, all unit members' salary schedules shall reflect a **two percent (2%)** increase over the 2014-2015 LACEA Salary Schedules A, B, C, D, G, H, I, A-SLP, B-SLP, and D-SLP Effective July 1, 2015, all unit members shall receive a one-time lump sum payment of **one and one quarter percent (1.25%)** based on the 2015-2106 LACEA Salary Schedules"

LACOE's proposal did not come close to LACEA's salary proposal and is in fact the same proposal they gave CSEA which is the para-educators' bargaining unit.

In addition, the Office wanted contract language that will give their Principals "veto power" over site SDMs: "The site SDM Council shall have the discretion to determine the professional development with final approval of the Principal on those two minimum days." LACOE took away the minimum day the last day before winter break and the last day of the school year which they have given to us and have been calendared for decades. LACEA agreed to utilize two days out of the 18 minimum days it won in arbitration and give the discretion to determine PDs to the site SDM Councils. Although Principals and administrators are members of the SDMs, the Office insisted on giving the Principals veto power.

The LACEA Bargaining Team found these two proposals unacceptable, offensive, and speaks of LACOE's lack of appreciation for the dedicated and hard working men and women of LACEA. The only course of action was to take LACOE to Impasse.

The LACEA Bargaining team is counting on everyone's support and solidarity with our Association as we fight for our livelihood and right to decision making.

WE ARE ALL IN THIS TOGETHER!

Bargaining Team Members

Elena Johnson (Chair), Don Bailey, Jeanette Davis, Troy Doyle, Ed Shaiman, Zoila Gallegos, and CTA Executive Director Michaela O'Neill